The New Play Society was founded by actress Dora Mavor Moore in 1946 and gave its first performance at the Royal Ontario Museum Theatre in October of that year. Moore's company is notable for its emphasis on producing Canadian plays in an era when this was not common. Among the Canadian playwrights produced by the New Play Society are Mavor Moore, John Coulter, Lister Sinclair, Morley Callaghan, Mazo de la Roche and Harry Boyle. The company closed in 1971. (Source: Eugene Benson and L.W. Conolly, English-Canadian Theatre, Oxford University Press, 1987.)

Close Window